Being an Artist

To me art is about expressing yourself. That’s not some ground breaking definition, but it’s extremely true. When I create a piece of art, I do it exactly the way I want to do it–not the way anyone else wants it.
But in constantly expressing yourself, you’re constantly up for judgment. That’s where I think it gets complicated, because people can wrongly judge you. It happens all the time–not just in art, but in life. I think it’s just one of those things where I, personally, feel misunderstood. It happens though. It goes hand and hand with putting yourself out there. But I’m okay with it even if I am not always understood. I just have to keep doing it–being me.

There’s a great J.D. Salinger quote that i think is applicable. “An artists only concern is to shoot for some kind of perfection, and on his own terms, not anyone else’s.”

Leave a comment